History of Lucknow Supergiants in IPL

Share with your friends

In Tata IPL 2022, 10 teams are competing with each other to win this tournament. Before this season, there were eight teams, and with the inclusion of 2 new teams, the format has changed completely. Two new teams are Lucknow SuperGiants and Gujarat Titans. Let’s talk about Lucknow SuperGiants. They are a franchise cricket team based in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh. There was a buzz about the inclusion of a team from UP for the last few seasons, which proved right in this season. The team was founded in 2021, and they have a home stadium named Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow. The captain of this team is KL Rahul, and Lucknow has appointed Andy Flower as their coach.

The owner of this team is RPSG group, who was the previous owner of Pune supergiant franchises between 2017 and 2016. In 2021, the IPL governing council issued a tender for two new teams in August 2021, and 22 teams showed their interest in it. Some big sports big bulls also applied for their franchise. The Sanjiv Goenka-owned RPSG Group won the bidding with a whopping bid of ₹7,090 crores.

The team got its name and logo in January 2022. Before the mega auction, the Lucknow team has already drafted three big names for their team. KL Rahul in 17 crores, Marcus Stoinis in 9.2 crores, and Ravi Bishnoi in 4 crores. With this draft, KL Rahul became the highest-paid player in IPL 2022. Let’s take a look at the squad of Lucknow Supergiant’s.

Lucknow SuperGiants squad for IPL 2022: KL Rahul (C & WK) (Drafted), Quinton de Kock (wk), Manish Pandey, Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya, Marcus Stoinis (Drafted), Evin Lewis,  Jason Holder, Andrew Tye, Kyle Mayers, Avesh Khan, Dushmantha Chameera, Ayush Badoni, Ravi Bishnoi (Drafted), Manan Vohra, Krishnappa Gowtham, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ankit Rajpoot, Mayank Yadav, Mohsin Khan, Karan Sharma.

IPL Winner 2022 Prediction | Horoscope Prediction | Kundli Matching